Answer ID 236


How do I enable or disable Registrar-Lock (clientTransferProhibited) status for my domain?


A Registrar Lock is a transfer lock placed on a domain name to prevent the domain from being transferred away without authorization. To transfer a domain name, this lock must be disabled.


To enable or disable Registrar-Lock (clientTransferProhibited) status for a single domain, please do the following:

  • Login to your account.
  • Select the menu option "Domain > My Domains".
  • Click on the link for the domain name.
  • Click on "General Settings - Edit".
  • Choose to enable or disable registrar lock, and click "Save Changes"
  • Please allow approximately 24 hours for the status to update at the registry.


To enable or disable Registrar-Lock (clientTransferProhibited) status for multiple domains at one time, please do the following:

  • Login to your account.
  • Select the menu option "Domain > My Domains".
  • check mark all the domains you wish to modify
  • In the drop-down menu at the bottom, click "Bulk Edit Selected"
  • Click "Go" (You can modify or add to the list of domains at the next page as well)
  • Under "Settings to Modify" click "Registrar Lock"
  • Most likely you will want to "Enter Settings Manually"
  • Choose to enable or disable registrar lock, then click "Review Bulk Edit Request"
  • After review, click "Submit Bulk Edit Request"
  • Please allow approximately 24 hours for the status to update at the registry.


NOTE: Removal of registrar lock does not initiate transfer of a domain; it only updates the domain status to ACTIVE or OK, thus enabling registrar transfer.  For instructions on how to transfer your domain, please see the article, "How to initiate an OUTGOING domain transfer".


NOTE: There is a transfer lock on a domain for 60 days after it has been registered or transferred. This is a policy for all domains and registrars as outlined by ICANN: